MOON GOOSE – “The Wax Monster Lives Behind the First Row of Trees” (Transparent Blue Vinyl)


MOON GOOSE – “The Wax Monster Lives Behind the First Row of Trees” (Transparent Blue Vinyl) PRE-ORDER


In stock


Moon Goose – The Wax Monster Lives Behind the First Rows of Trees – 1xLP
Released by Fruits de Mer Records & Moon Goose on 15th September 2020
This is the second pressing of our second album, this time on transparent blue. The first pressing (300, on orange vinyl with a bonus live cd) sold out shortly after release in September.
All tracks written and performed by Moon Goose,
except “It ain’t true”, written by Faine Jade.Recorded by Ryan Jordan at AR Studios.
Produced and mastered by Leon Johnson.
Additional mastering by Fran Ashcroft.
Photos by Joel Filipe and Rosie Fraser.
Artwork by Lapin Blanc.
Hay-on-Wye, August 2020: Area band Moon Goose has only gone and squeezed out, between the cracks of lockdown, another musical collection. The Wax Monster Lives Behind the First Row of Trees (TWMLBTFROT) occupies a liminal space between EP and album, comprising five full tracks and four micro-tracks which are short enough to be used to TikTok videos.
Full of secret communications, the record is best understood as a piece of bricolage held together by a childhood ghost, manifesting in such diverse places as a Vietnamese Banknote and an imaginary cave on the Iowa border.
The music can be enjoyed quite loud, fairly late in the day, accompanied by a human sundae machine if available, on board a fungal transport if possible.
“They took the British sharp n’ heavy Neo-Space Rock of their previous release and they managed to mingle it with enormous amounts of Kozmique Energy.”
“The Wax Monster Lives Behind the First Row of Trees EP is another ambitious release from Moon Goose, an album that straddles prog and psychedelia, darkness and light, highlighted by lead track 10​,​000 Đồng. For those who like epic jam and drone it’s available in all good formats.”
Stuart Maconie, BBC Radio 6 Freak Zone
“I really liked that album”
Gideon Coe, BBC Radio 6
“Reassuringly (in places) baffling”

Track Listing:

1. (Sibley, Iowa) – 0:28
2. Shiny Man – 5:41
3. (The Blood Plant) – 0:40
4. Edible Druid – 8:17
5. (The Maquoketa Caves) – 0:24
6. 10,000 Đồng6:33
7. (Hawkeye Point) – 0:25
8. It Ain’t True – 3:26
9. South Popular Guy – 10:27

Additional information

Weight 9.31 oz
Dimensions 12.5 × 12.5 × .25 in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *